Epsom Derby Winners

Epsom Derby WinnersThe Epsom Derby is one of the oldest races run anywhere in the world with the first race having been run in 1780. The Derby was the brainchild of Edward Smith-Stanley, 12th Earl of Derby, who inaugurated it for the entertainment of his friends. The first race took place in 1780 and was won by Diomed.

A couple of the most famous horses to have won the Epsom Racecourse are Nijinsky in 1970 and famous for another unfortunate reason Shergar who won it in 1981,having been kidnapped from his horse box and has never been found to this day. When you mention the Epsom Derby one jockey who has become associated with this great race was Lester Pigott who managed to win it an amazing nine times, no other jockey has come close to emulating this magnificent achievement.

Year Horse Trainer Jockey SP
2010 WORKFORCE SIr Michael Stoute R Moore 6/1
2007 AUTHORIZED Peter Chapple­Hyam L Dettori 5/4f
2006 SIR PERCY - M Dwyer 6/1
2005 MOTIVATOR M Bell J Murtagh 3/1 F
2004 NORTH LIGHT Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon 7/2 JF
2003 KRIS KIN Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon 6/1
2002 HIGH CHAPARRAL Aidan O'Brien Johnny Murtagh 7/2
2001 GALILEO Aidan O'Brien M J Kinane 11/4JF
2000 SINNDAR John Oxx Johnny Murtagh 7/1
1999 OATH Henry Cecil Kieren Fallon 13/2
1998 HIGH-RISE Luca Cumani Olivier Peslier 20/1
1997 BENNY THE DIP John Gosden Willie Ryan 11/1
1996 SHAAMIT William Haggas Michael Hills 12/1
1995 LAMMTARRA Saeed bin Suroor Walter Swinburn 14/1
1994 ERHAAB John Dunlop Willie Carson 7/2F
1993 COMMANDER IN CHIEF Henry Cecil Michael Kinane 15/2
1992 DR DEVIOUS Peter Chapple­Hyam John Reid 8/1
1991 GENEROUS Paul Cole Alan Munro 9/1
1990 QUEST FOR FAME Roger Charlton Pat Eddery 7/1
1989 NASHWAN Dick Hern Willie Carson 5/4F
1988 KAHYASI Luca Cumani Ray Cochrane 11/1
1987 REFERENCE POINT Henry Cecil Steve Cauthen 6/4F
1986 SHAHRASTANI Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn 11/2
1985 SLIP ANCHOR Henry Cecil Steve Cauthen 9/4F
1984 SECRETO David O'Brien Christy Roche 14/1
1983 TEENOSO Geoff Wragg Lester Piggott 9/2F
1982 GOLDEN FLEECE Vincent O'Brien Pat Eddery 3/1F
1981 SHERGAR Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn 10/11F
1980 HENBIT Dick Hern Willie Carson 7/1
1979 TROY Dick Hern Willie Carson 6/1
1978 SHIRLEY HEIGHTS John Dunlop Greville Starkey 8/1
1977 THE MINSTREL Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 5/1
1976 EMPERY Maurice Zilber Lester Piggott 10/1
1975 GRUNDY Peter Walwyn Pat Eddery 5/1
1974 SNOW KNIGHT Peter Nelson Brian Taylor 50/1
1973 MORSTON Arthur Budgett Eddie Hide 25/1
1972 ROBERTO Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 3/1F
1971 MILL REEF Ian Balding Geoff Lewis 100/30F
1970 NIJINSKY Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 11/8F

Paddy Power Free £100 Epsom Derby Bets

Paddy Power Free Bet Paddy Power the innovative and customer friendly Irish Bookmakers are offering one of the best Free bets currently available for the 2010 Epsom Derby. The company are now Irelands leading independent bookmakers are renowned for their unique betting offers that very often greatly assist existing customers, proving that it certainly pays to have an account up and running with them. The offer is £100 for new customers using their online gaming site. Just follow the prompts after clicking the link.

Claim a free bet of £100 For the 2010 Epsom Derby with Paddy Power

£20 Risk Free Bet Bet Now

£25 Free Bet Bet Now

£50 Free Bet Bet Now

£30 Free Bet Bet Now

£30 Signup Offer Bet Now

£40 Free Bet Bet Now

Toms Racing Tips

Following on from last year, we are delighted to announce that we are featuring Horse racing tips from Channel Four Racing presenter, Tom Lee.


Open a Paddy Power account by using any link on this site, have a bet of £10 and they will give you TWO FREE £10 bets.